Savoury Olive Oil Zucchini Cake / Αλμυρό Κέικ με Κολοκύθι


Μετάφραση της συνταγής πιο κάτω

I made the recipe I submitted to Foodie, which was included in their e-cookbook with kid friendly recipes.  You can find this recipe on pages 90 – 91 as well as two others on pages 78 – 81 of the e-cookbook “Family Flavours, Favourite Recipes, from Foodie.

Cakes with vegetables in them are usually exceptionally moist and luscious.  This is a great way to get your children eating more vegetables with all the health benefits.  The olive oil is used to fry the vegetables and no more is added.

The recipe in the e-cookbook was prepared before we left Athens and since then I have made it many times, each time with a few alterations, depending on the ingredients I had at hand but all of them were equally delicious.
My Olive Oil Zucchini Cake will amaze you as this is the best zucchini cake I’ve ever made, and it’s incredibly easy.  You can also make it into a bread or even muffins.

Note:  Muffins were baked for 30 minutes.

Cake was baked for 1 hour and 10 minutes in my old oven. Instead of only feta I added half feta and half halloumi.  Instead of milk, I also added some Greek yoghurt.

If you do not have peppermint, add more mint.

The last time I made it here in Assini I did not have fresh milk or yoghurt, so I used evaporated milk, feta and kasseri cheese.  I also added  a tsp of my Greek spice mixture in it.  Instead of using a potato peeler, I used the mandolin and made fine vegetable sticks, which I fried.  I then mixed them in the batter.  I baked it in my new oven using the oven fan and it was ready after 50 minutes, so this is a lesson that each one of us should take into consideration, depending on the oven we are using.  The amount of flour used was not weighed as my scale is still in the boxes but it’s about the same quantity.

You can find the recipe here.

 

Το κέικ αυτό είναι δική μου συνταγή η οποία δημοσιεύτηκε σε ένα ξένο ηλεκτρονικό περιοδικό μαζί με δύο άλλες συνταγές μου που θα βρείτε στις σελίδες 78 – 81 και 90 – 91.   Έκτοτε το έχω ξαναφτιάξει αρκετές φορές με μικροπαραλλαγές, ανάλογα με τα υλικά που είχα στο σπίτι.  Είναι ένα από τα καλύτερα αλμυρά κέικ που έχω φτιάξει και εάν τα παιδιά σας δεν τρώνε λαχανικά, είναι ένας καλός τρόπος να φάνε τα παιδιά καμουφλαρισμένα λαχανικά.  Το ελαιόλαδο που βάζω είναι μόνο εκείνο που χρησιμοποιώ για να τηγανίσω τα λαχανικά.

Σημείωση:  Τα μάφινς θέλουν γύρω στα 30 λεπτά ψήσιμο, ανάλογα τον φούρνο.

Την δεύτερη φορά που το έψησα στον παλιό μου φούρνο, πήρε γύρω στη 1 ώρα και 10 λεπτά.  Αντί για μόνο φέτα, είχα βάλει μισή φέτα και το υπόλοιπο σε χαλούμι.  Επίσης αντί για γάλα έβαλα γιαούρτι σραγγιστό.

Εάν δεν έχετε μέντα, βάλτε περισσότερο δυόσμο.

Την τελευταία φορά που το έφτιαξα εδώ στην Ασίνη, δυστυχώς δεν είχα όλα τα απαραίτητα υλικά και έτσι έβαλα φέτα και κασέρι, αντί για γάλα φρέσκο έβαλα εβαπορέ και επίσης έβαλα λίγο από το μείγμα μπαχαρικών που φτιάχνω μόνη μου.  Στον καινούργιο φούρνο μου ψήθηκε με αέρα και αντιστάσεις για 50 λεπτά, γιαυτό πάντα ο χρόνος που δίνουμε στις συνταγές είναι ενδεικτικός και πρέπει να ακολουθείτε τον τρόπο και χρόνο που ψήνετε ανάλογα με το φούρνο σας.

Μπορείτε να βρείτε τη συνταγή εδώ.

Have a wonderful weekend / Καλό Σαββατοκύριακο από Ασίνη.

Kopiaste and Kali Orexi / Κοπιάστε και Καλή Όρεξη,

2 thoughts on “Savoury Olive Oil Zucchini Cake / Αλμυρό Κέικ με Κολοκύθι

  1. Pingback: Our Odyssey after relocating | Gourmet Concoctions in Assini, Kopiaste!

  2. Pingback: Greek Olive Oil Zucchini, Yoghurt and Feta Cake / Κολοκυθοκέικ Ελαιόλαδο με Γιαούρτι και Φέτα | Mint, Cinnamon & Blossom Water

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.